This website uses cookies.
Office of the Election Supervisor for the International Brotherhood of Teamsters

McCaffrey, 2020 ESD 11


for the



IN RE: DAVE McCAFFREY,                     )           Protest Decision 2020 ESD 11

                                                                        )           Issued: August 10, 2020

Protestor.                                           )           OES Case No. P-018-080720-FW



Dave McCaffrey, member of Local Union 952, filed a pre-election protest pursuant to Article XIII, Section 2(b) of the Rules for the 2020-2021 IBT International Union Delegate and Officer Election (“Rules”).  The protest alleged that officers of Local Union 952 campaigned on union-paid time.


After the protest was filed and docketed, the protestor advised our investigator, Michael Miller, that he was unable to substantiate the protest and desired to withdraw it.  He said he filed the charge based on an understanding that the campaigners in question, who assumed office with the local union in 2020, had not accumulated vacation time that could be used for campaigning.  He subsequently determined that his understanding of vacation accrual for union officers was incorrect and asked to withdraw the protest.


Concluding that withdrawal serves the purposes of the Rules, we grant the protestor’s request and deem this protest WITHDRAWN.


Any interested party not satisfied with this determination may request a hearing before the Election Appeals Master within two (2) working days of receipt of this decision.  Any party requesting a hearing must comply with the requirements of Article XIII, Section 2(i).  All parties are reminded that, absent extraordinary circumstances, no party may rely in any such appeal upon evidence that was not presented to the Office of the Election Supervisor.  Requests for a hearing shall be made in writing, shall specify the basis for the appeal, and shall be served upon:


Barbara Jones

Election Appeals Master


Copies of the request for hearing must be served upon the parties, as well as upon the Election Supervisor for the International Brotherhood of Teamsters, all within the time prescribed above.  Service may be accomplished by email, using the “reply all” function on the email by which the party received this decision.  A copy of the protest must accompany the request for hearing.


                                                                  Richard W. Mark

                                                                  Election Supervisor

cc:       Barbara Jones

            2020 ESD 11









Bradley T. Raymond, General Counsel

International Brotherhood of Teamsters


Edward Gleason


Patrick Szymanski


Will Bloom


Tom Geoghegan


Kevin Moore


F.C. “Chris” Silvera


Fred Zuckerman


Ken Paff

Teamsters for a Democratic Union

Dave McCaffrey


Teamsters Local Union 952


Joe Kaplon


Elizabeth Rosenfeld


Amanda Lively


Michael Miller


Deborah Schaaf


Jeffrey Ellison