This website uses cookies.
Office of the Election Supervisor for the International Brotherhood of Teamsters


for the



IN RE: ELIGIBILITY OF                          )           Protest Decision 2016 ESD 66

            JOE WITZMANN,                           )           Issued: January 15, 2016

                                                                        )           OES Case No. E-081-010816-MW

            Local Union 1145.                             )                      



            David Hedberg filed a pre-election protest pursuant to Article XIII, Section 2(b) of the Rules for the 2015-2016 IBT International Union Delegate and Officer Election (“Rules”).  The protest alleged that Joe Witzmann is ineligible for nomination as delegate to the IBT convention for alleged failure to maintain 24 consecutive months of good standing.  Specifically, the protest alleged that, in months when Witzmann was a cash dues payer, he suffered an interruption in continuous good standing by paying his dues after the first day of the month, even though he paid his dues before the last business day of the month.


            On January 13, 2016, protestor Hedberg requested to withdraw the protest.  Concluding the purposes of the Rules are served by the withdrawal request, we deem this protest WITHDRAWN.  Witzmann’s name shall appear on the ballot in Local Union 1145’s delegates and alternate delegates election.


Any interested party not satisfied with this determination may request a hearing before the Election Appeals Master within two (2) working days of receipt of this decision.  The parties are reminded that, absent extraordinary circumstances, no party may rely upon evidence that was not presented to the Office of the Election Supervisor in any such appeal.  Requests for a hearing shall be made in writing, shall specify the basis for the appeal, and shall be served upon:


Kathleen A. Roberts

Election Appeals Master


620 Eighth Avenue, 34th floor

New York, NY 10018


Copies of the request for hearing must be served upon the parties, as well as upon the Election Supervisor for the International Brotherhood of Teamsters, 1050 17th Street, N.W., Suite 375, Washington, D.C. 20036, all within the time prescribed above.  A copy of the protest must accompany the request for hearing.


                                                                        Richard W. Mark

                                                                        Election Supervisor

cc:        Kathleen A. Roberts

            2016 ESD 66 




Bradley T. Raymond, General Counsel

International Brotherhood of Teamsters

25 Louisiana Avenue, NW

Washington, DC 20001


David J. Hoffa

1701 K Street NW, Ste 350

Washington DC 20036


Ken Paff

Teamsters for a Democratic Union

P.O. Box 10128

Detroit, MI 48210-0128


Barbara Harvey

1394 E. Jefferson Avenue

Detroit, MI 48207


Teamsters United

315 Flatbush Avenue, #501

Brooklyn, NY 11217


Louie Nikolaidis

350 West 31st Street, Suite 40

New York, NY 10001


Julian Gonzalez

350 West 31st Street, Suite 40

New York, NY 10001


David O’Brien Suetholz

515 Park Avenue

Louisville, KY 45202


Fred Zuckerman

P.O. Box 9493

Louisville, KY 40209


David Hedberg

968 95th Street, NW

Blaine, MN 55434


Teamsters Local Union 1145

9422 Ulysses Street, NE, Suite 130

Blaine, MN 55434


Joe Witzmann

29601 Holly Street, NW

Isanti, MN 55040


Mary Ann Campbell

13853 State Rd E

DeSoto, MO 63020


Jeffrey Ellison

214 S. Main Street, Suite 212

Ann Arbor, MI 48104